Sixteen(16) Tips For Single Ladies Living Alone

Sixteen(16) Tips For Single Ladies Living Alone

Hi there πŸ‘‹πŸ½ Welcome to another blog post.

I want to share the things I wish someone told me before I started living alone. I hope you or someone you know will find them helpful.

Happy reading πŸ™‚

1. Invest in insecticide

Gurl, INVEST in insecticide. Multiple brands, too. I don’t know about everyone else, but I personally do not entertain bugs or insects. I have been jumped on by a flying cockroach too many times to know those things are not to be tolerated or they will terrorise you. Invest in cockroach spray, mosquito repellent, fly spray, ant repellent, etc.

2. Secure your house

Aside from bugs, the other intruders you should consider are thieves, rapists, stalkers etc. Please make sure your home is secure both when you are there and when you leave. Invest in good locks even though they may cost quite a lot. Be creative with other tools you can use too to further secure your doors and windows.

3. Emergency contacts

Have a database of people you can call in case of an emergency. This will include people like your neighbour, friends nearby, family, and the police. Living alone has ups and downs. However, there will always be people who will be your guardian angels.

4. Extra supplies

Always keep an extra supply of groceries, toiletries, etc, to avoid going out after dark. There are a lot of abductions these days. Most of the victims are women and children. Please make sure you stock up on necessities. You can do your shopping during the day to avoid moving at night especially if you do not own a vehicle.

5. Airtime

One of the worst things that can happen is being faced with an emergency in the middle of the night with no way of reaching people for help. Always make sure you’re paid up on your data bundle, sms bundle, and minutes on your phone.

6. Rodent control methods

Rats in particular. When they infest your home, they come in numbers. They bring their grandma, their baby daddy, their side dude, and their ten babies! They are also mighty fertile! They multiply in a blink of an eye. They’ll play on your bed while you’re at work and leave their droppings as presents on your pillows. Sis, please consult on how to prevent them. Yes, I’m very pressed about this one because they used to eat my tomatoes 😭

7. Music system

Invest in a good speaker or music system.

Nothing is as relaxing as getting home from work and putting on your favourite tunes as you run a bath for yourself. You deserve nice things 🫠 Grab a glass of your favourite drink and soak that stress away.

8. Rules

There is no home without rules. Your home should not be an exception. You should have rules and boundaries for your space. i.e., no visitors after a certain hour, only invite people of the opposite sex when you feel completely safe around them or if the feelings/intentions are mutual and consensual, etc.

9. Learn new skills

Put on your big girl pants and learn how to change a bulb, how to assess the plumbing needs around the house, how to fight bugs, sewing a button onto a shirt, how to wrestle with a big fat rat in the middle of the night 😭 etc.

11. Don’t tell everyone where you live

For your own safety, only tell those you trust of your exact location. It is not everyone you will meet who will have good intentions. Be smart. Please.

10. Be clean

I don’t know about you, but I love living in a clean environment. It brings a sense of tranquillity. I can’t go back to a messy home after a long day of work. When I get home, that should be my resting place.

Take time to clean your home. Change your sheets, do the dishes, fluff the pillows, mop the floor, etc. Be orderly.

12. Store water

No matter how well your area is supplied with water, please keep a container in case of emergencies. You can’t go to work without freshening up.

13. Lighting options

You should not be stranded during a power failure in your neighbourhood. There are so many alternatives that are efficient, like solar powered chargers and lamps, battery-operated lamps, etc. Nothing sucks more than a blackout when you’re all by yourself. Be smart.

14. Build your network

Get to know people from various professions. Get excited when you get acquainted with a plumber, electrician, police officer, pastor, paramedic, nurse, etc. These are people who will be able to get you out of urgent unfortunate situations.

15. Get a companion

If you feel too lonely, adopt a fur baby. It will definitely fill up a void in the house. If you are not a pet person, you can try to buy a plant. I know people who get so attached to their plant that it becomes a part of them. It even becomes something to look forward to at the end of the day.

16. Have a blast

Living alone can be a roller coaster, but heck, it is an amazing experience. You learn so much about yourself and who you really are. You get to enjoy the freedom, the highs, the birthday cake you can buy for yourself even though you know damn well it’s not your birthday 🀣 Enjoy every bit of it.


Thank you for reading. Please leave other tips that I may have left out in the comments ❀️

5 thoughts on “Sixteen(16) Tips For Single Ladies Living Alone

  1. There are so many things I resonate with here and on being clean, one rule I set for myself was that there would be no dirty dish or cup left in the sink. It’s easy to let go and let them pile up.

    Thanks for sharing these!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. No 8 is so important. Have rules for your house and set those boundaries. My space is my safe haven and I don’t let everyone in. Keeping it clean is my number one priority.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Most staff I can relate. Number 8 learnt the hard way, I just told myself no more visitors at my place. #3 I used to have emergency contacts but most cases they failed me, so told my family if you can’t reach me, check with my landlord she has a master key to my house.

    Like

Leave a comment